Skip to main content

Last few days to see iMprint 5!

By 10 October 2021No Comments

iMprint 5 is open until Thursday 14 October, make sure you don’t miss it!

The iMprint team is made up of Jesmond Vassallo, Lino Borg & Justin Falzon. The exhibition is curated by Christian Attard.

30 September to 14 October 2021

Opening Hours:
Mondays to Fridays: 8am to 7pm
Saturdays: 9am to 1.30pm
Sundays & Public Holidays: Closed

Venue: Art Galleries of the Malta Society of Arts, Palazzo de La Salle, 219, Republic Street, Valletta

Entrance is free, subject to Covid-19 measures

The exhibition forms part of a series of collective shows called ‘iMprint’ which was started by artist Jesmond Vassallo. In 2013 Vassallo started to organise an annual event dedicated to the art of printmaking. In 2017, iMprint developed into a biennale appointment. This is the only exhibition of its kind in Malta that focusses exclusively on excellent works in the language of intaglio printmaking. By now, iMprint has become a staple in Malta’s art calendar. In past editions, iMpint exhibited works by stalwarts Frank Portelli, Horst Janssen, Marino Marini and Chagall. The aim of the exhibition is to enhance awareness about the art of original printmaking, particularly intaglio processes. We are pleased to announce that this year’s edition of iMprint will feature a retrospective section consisting of works made by the well-known local artist Carmelo Mangion (who introduced etching at the School of Art) and Italian artist Edo Janich.


This year the 2 special guest artists are Carmelo Mangion (1905-1977) and Edo Janich (1943 – ).

All participating artists are the following:

Mario Abela, Victor Agius, Lisa Ambrogio, Carmen Aquilina, Lino Borg, Vince Briffa, Raymond Calleja, Austin Camilleri, Joyce Camilleri, Roderick Camilleri, Pawl Carbonaro, Alfred Caruana Ruggier, John Michael Caruana, Silvana Caruana, Adrienne Cassar, Annabel Cordina, Raymond Darmanin, Kevin Ellul, Justin Falzon, Jason Joe Farrugia, Jonathan Galea, Anna Grima, Eman Grima, Joseph Mark Micallef, Stephania Micallef, Sergio Muscat, Nathalie Pace, Nicole Pace, Tracey Polea, Mike Ross, Richard Saliba, Tony Sciberras, Catherine Sims, Johanna Uski, Jesmond Vassallo, John Vassallo, Olaug Vethal, and Irene Zammit.