Rhythms of Vision – WOW duo concert

Date(s) - 17 Sep 2022

Rhythms of Vision 

Featuring WOW duo

Tricia Dawn WILLIAMS – piano &
Bebei WANG – percussion

For the sixth instalment of Modern Music Days

Date: Saturday 17 September 2022

Time: 8pm

Venue: Concert Hall of the Malta Society of Arts,
Palazzo de La Salle, 219, Republic Street, Valletta

WOW duo, featuring pianist Tricia Dawn Williams and percussionist Beibei Wang made its international debut on the 29th of June 2022 edition as part of the Oxford Festival of the Arts and shall present an exciting range of musical styles. The programme includes music by Hannah Lash, Giannis Papkrasas, Arvo Pärt and Emmanuel Sejourne as well as Maltese composers Christopher Muscat and Ruben Zahra.


C by Hannah Lash
Duo by Giannis Papkrasas
Jolt by Ruben Zahra
Spiegel im Spiegel by Arvo Pärt
Atalanta by John Psathas
Loop the loop by Christopher Muscat
Avalanche (mov II) by Emmanuel Sejourne
Boiling Clouds by Ruben Zahra

Tickets: www.ticketline.com.mt/bookings/Shows

More details…

The music selected for this debut concert presents an exciting range of musical styles. Both “Spiegel im Spiegel” by Arvo Pärt and “C” by Hannah Lash portray a minimalist aesthetic.

This project has an interdisciplinary dimension featuring two new video-art commissions projected as a visual backdrop to the live performance. Arvo Pärt’s suspended melodic notes and three-note piano figure will be accompanied by a blend of colour by video artist Patrick Fenech, while Hannah Lash’s fast-paced “C” will be accompanied by the pulsating abstract animations of video artist Nicole Pace. “Boiling Clouds” by Ruben Zahra, “Atalanta” by John Psathas and “Duo” by Giannis Papkrasas portray an upbeat character of the duo with syncopated rhythmic interactions between the two instruments. In contrast, “Avalanche” (mov II) for vibraphone and piano by Emmanuel Sejourne presents tonal melodic themes supported by lush jazz harmony, reminiscent of a cinematic leitmotif.

Williams and Wang will each present a solo piece: “Loop the Loop” by Christopher Muscat for vibraphone and looper and “Jolt” by Ruben Zahra for piano and looper. The looper allows the performers to create instant recordings of the live performance and play them back in real-time to create a complex polyphonic soundscape.

This concert is part of the Modern Music Days programme organised by the Malta Association for Contemporary Music – supported by Arts Council Malta.