Gold Medal Ceremony

Date(s) - 06 Dec 2017

This year the ceremony will take place on Wednesday 6 December 2017 at 7pm during a private ceremony to be held at the Concert Hall of Palazzo de La Salle, Valletta in the presence of H.E. The President of Malta Marie Louise Coleiro Preca.  The recipient of the Gold Medal will be Charles Gatt.

Charles Gatt Photo

Charles Gatt at the 2010 edition of the Malta Jazz Festival (photo by Sergio Muscat)

Gold Medal History

The Malta Society of Arts, Manufactures and Commerce, established just over 160 years ago, was, for at least a century, the islands’ only nationally recognised promoter of the Arts. Palazzo de La Salle served as the meeting place and exhibition space for the Accademia di Belle Arti group founded by Josef Kalleja in 1930. Notably, in the early 1950’s, the Society came to the aid of the newly-formed Modern Art movements and awarded scholarships to some of the great artists of the time, including Giuseppe Calì, Antonio Sciortino and Joseph Briffa.


Throughout the years, the Exhibition Halls of Palazzo de La Salle have been graced with the works of Malta’s great masters including Anton Inglott, Gianni Vella, Vincent Apap, Lazzaro Pisani and Edward Caruana Dingli.

Past recipients of the Gold Medal Award have included such illustrious names as Sir Temi Zammit (1904), Robert Caruana Dingli (1916), Emvin Cremona (1963), Oreste Chircop (1997), Richard England (1984), Joseph Calleja (2007), Harry Alden (2013) and Carmine Lauri (2015) to name but a few.

For a full list of past awardees, please click here.