Agius Anton

Year: 2006

 Born in Rabat, Agius (1.12.1933-19.10.2008) started his apprenticeship in Art under Jospeh Galea.  He studied art at the Malta Society of Arts, Manufacturers and Commerce between 1950 and 1953.  He continued his studies at the School of Arts under George Borg.  In 1957, Agius won a Malta government scholarship at the Scuola del Nudo dell’ Associazione Artistica Internazionale at the Accademia di Belle Arti in Rome and to St Martin’s School of Art in London, where he was awarded the national diploma in design, modelling, sculpture and letter cutting.

Agius was an art teacher in secondary schools, lecturer at the University of Malta, examiner for Oxford ‘O’ Level Ceramicas and member of the Malta Aesthetics Board. He won first prize in the Human Rights Art Exhibition (1968), the first prize for the Trophy for the Best-Kept Village (1971), the Onorificenza Del Dio Pan in Florence (1979), the Artist of the Year Award (1980), the Targa d’Onore (1982) and the second prize of the First International Art Biennale in Malta (1995).

Several of Agius’s works are found in private collectiond in many parts of the world.  Among the artist’s major works are the Workers Monument at Msida, the 31 March 1979 Monument in Vittoriosa, the monument of Dun Mikiel Xerri u Shabu in Valletta, the monument of Mgr.G. DePiro at Rabat, the statue of Manwel Dimech in Valletta, the statue of Guze’ Elleul Mercer at Dingli, the monument commemorating the victims of the Sette Giugno riots in Valletta, the bust of Anton Buttigieg in Qala, Gozo and the sepulchral work of Kurcifiss ta’ Llum for the Dominican Order.
Anton Agius exhibited several works and these include a 1963 exhibition at the National Musuem, the Musuem of Fine Arts (1974 and 1979), the Maltese Sculptures and Ceramics Exhibition at the Galleria Fenici (1981), the Art ’84 – Malta Exhibition (1984) and the Public Service Week Art Exhibition (1996).

Agius was made member of the National Order of Merit in 2005.  In 2007, he was awarded the Gold Award Medal of the Society of Arts, Manufacturers and Commerce.